Failing need

in_longing_spirit_by_autumn_ethereal-d4lky5b

Sometimes a devastating loneliness steals upon me

A suffocating spectre that claws at my chest

Leaving me bereft, dissipated and doused in fear

A ripe scent of what has been lost clings to me

Silence descends as formulation of articulacy flees

I long to be held but cannot ask, I long to be nurtured

But cannot speak of it, aching desire gnaws within

Eventually, a distant sun dawns restoring equipoise

I long for the courage to ask for what I need

Image credit: ‘In Longing Spirit’ by Alexandre Deschaumes

Leave a Reply

